David Rickert

wordsworth, quitely, and gibbons

This is my most recent comic, which features William Wordsworth introducing the concept of personification to students.  Of course, I loved the idea when I came up with it, and thought I had a pretty good William Wordsworth going.  Then I finished it, and  as always, I hated it.  I wanted to start completely over and all I could see were the flaws or the things that didn’t quite match my vision.  Even my wife, who really liked it when she saw it, could offer no support.  I ended up enjoying working on it, thinking it was terrific all along but deeply saddened by the finished product.

Fortunately I read an article in the most recent issue of the Comics Journal which was essentially a discussion between Dave Gibbons and Frank Quitely, both of whom mentioned this same problem.  It was reassuring that even the professionals suffer from this same plague of doubt once they finish a page; it never quite matches up to their expectations and they can see lots of things that didn’t quite match up to what they had envisioned in their mind.  They offered an interesting perspective though, that the people who look at their comics never knew what they had in mind and thus have no idea what the original vision is.  These people are much more unbiased and can offer a better analysis of the quality of the work.

The reality for them is that eventually they will go back and look at their work and realize that it wasn’t so bad after all.  This happened to me, as well; now that I have been done with this for a couple of weeks, I can really see a lot of good stuff in it and thing its pretty strong.  However, I know with the next one the doubts will creep in.  Apparently it’s just something you have to live with.

Check out the latest Comics Journal, issue #300.  More on that later.

For some more education related comics, go to http://comicteacher.com.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2010 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
