David Rickert

2010 Festival of Cartoon Art

One of the perks of living in Columbus is being so close to the Billy Ireland Cartoon library and museum.  Or I should say it should be one of the perks, because I don’t really spend much time there.  It would be cool if it was the sort of place where they had old comic books strewn about tables and stacks full of old MAD magazine paperbacks that you could browse through, but really it’s much more into preservation and research than borrowing.  You can’t check anything out, and if you want to look at something, they have to get it for you.  Still, there’s quite a lot of fun stuff there.

Surprisingly, I have never taken advantage of going to the Festival of Cartoon Art either, but this year I decided I will finally take the plunge and attend.  It’s only five minutes away form my house, so I really have no excuse for not going, and I’m hoping that I’ll run into some guys like John Read that I’ve emailed back and forth with but never met in person.  Should be a good time.  The speaker list is stellar, too.  I have always enjoyed Roz Chast’s New Yorker cartoons more than the others, which is of course saying a lot.  I remember reading Bill Griffith’s Zippy when it was in Hoot!, the short-lived humor publication in Columbus.  I’m hoping to meet Dan Piraro, as he was very influential in my development as a cartoonist as I mentioned in a previous post.  I will probably skip Matt Groening as I’m not a big Simpsons fan (although I suspect he might stick to the cartooning side of his life).  Spiegelman will be the subject of a retorspective there soon, and I’ll definitely try to catch him, although his session might be just as difficult to get into.

There’s also some special events in celebration of Kray Kat’s 100th birthday.  Although i’m not the biggest Krazt Kat fan, I do admire the strip and look forward to seeing what they have to offer.

Here’s a link to information about the festival: http://cartoons.osu.edu/fca2010/ 

Defintely worth checking out.  I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
