David Rickert

How I Cheated (part 2)

I came up with the caption for this cartoon before I came up with the idea for the drawing: Kiana would be sculpting a famous piece of artwork. After asking a few people for the name of a famous sculpture, Michaelangelo’s David seemed like the most likely choice. If you don’t know the sculpture, you don’t get the joke and it just looks like she’s a really good artist. So David it was!

The first obstacle I encountered was how to draw the statue to make sure that it was immediately recognizable for what it was. I didn’t even attempt to draw it freehand. Rather, I printed a picture of it off of a google search and traced the body to make sure I had the proportions exactly right (the hands, if I recall, are a little oversized.) At any rate, the picture I had was good for the body, but did not have enough detail of the face and hair for me to use. So I had to find another picture of the head and trace that, then use Photoshop to combine the head and the body seamlessly so I could then trace it one more time with a non-repro blue pencil for the final.

Of course, the second obstacle was the fact that David wasn’t wearing any clothes and this was intended for classroom use. Even though David probably appears in textbooks that students use as an example of a masterpiece, I didn’t think I could get away with it. So I threw a pair of jeans on him. Now he looks like an Abercrombie model. I figured it would be a good in joke for those familiar with the original.

I’m still not sure it works unless you know the original statue. It would then just look like she’s sculpting a hot guy, some sort of perfect boyfriend or something. But I hope it works either way.

I’m also really proud of the coloring job. Not only did I get the shading pretty close to what I wanted, but I think the shade of blue works perfectly. I don’t think I used any grays for colors in any of these drawings, preferring instead to use a color with some gray in it that fit the color palette and adjusting the opaqueness when necessary.

http://comicteacher.com

2 comments on “How I Cheated (part 2)

  1. watch dogs trailer
    July 31, 2013

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes
    it much more enjoyable for me to come here and
    visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your
    theme? Superb work!

    Like

    • davidrickert
      July 31, 2013

      Actually it’s a free template from WordPress. I’m glad you like it though; it seems to work for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
