David Rickert

Beatles caricatures – Bob Gibson

On a recent lazy Sunday morning I was listening to “Magical Mystery Tour” and playing Candyland with my daughter. During a lull in the action I happened to look at the CD booklet and was struck by this illustration:

I had seen this before, of course, but this time wanted to know who drew it. I loved the crisp, sixties style of it and was eager to see more. Unfortunately I couldn’t read the signature at this size, so I knew I would have to turn to the large and zealous Beatles online community.

I went to DM’s Beatles forums, registered, and posted my question. Sure enough I received an answer. Had I been in possession of the LP, I would have known the answer right away:

The artist’s name is Bob Gibson. Unfortunately I have been unable to find much more information about him. Apparently there is a Bob Gibson folksinger, but I’m not sure that it’s the same guy. What I did find, however, was that he created several cartoons for The Beatles Book (or The Beatles Monthly) magazine.

Surprisingly, there aren’t a lot of these cartoons out there on the Web. I figured there would be a healthy supply due to Beatles fans scanning them in. There aren’t. Perhaps they don’t want to dilute the value of the originals. Anyway, what I found was pretty interesting. These are from the Le Dessin blog, a French blog that has a bunch of interesting stuff from Pilote and other cartoonists from overseas. I’ll have to give it more of a look later. Here they are:

Some really good stuff. Anyone have any more?

9 comments on “Beatles caricatures – Bob Gibson

  1. Dawn Voice-Cooper
    November 9, 2012

    Hello David,

    I knew the Bob Gibson you are talking about. I worked with him in 63/64 on The Beatles Monthly mags, also Beat Monthly and later, Rolling Stones Monthly (all from the same stable). I’d been thinking about Bob, he was enormous fun, very laid back, and Googled his name and came up with your site. If you do track him down, please let me know. Thanks Dawn

    Like

    • davidrickert
      November 9, 2012

      Way cool! Glad I could help you rediscover his work. I was not able to find out much about him – not sure if he’s still alive. I’d love to see the rest of the stuff he did for the magazine, but his material is in short supply online. Do you still have all those old magazines? I’d love to be able to post some stuff that hasn’t seen the light of day in years.

      Like

      • Dawn Voice-Cooper
        November 14, 2012

        Hello David,
        I have 25 of the Beatles Monthly mags complete with Bob Gibson drawings. Still no luck finding the man himself though.
        Cheers, Dawn

        Like

    • keith stowers
      February 9, 2014

      Hello Dawn. Is it possible to chat with you on a personal matter in relation to your work with the Beatles Monthly magazine. I have supplied my email address in posting this reply to you.

      Regards

      Keith

      Like

      • Dawn Voice-Cooper
        February 10, 2014

        Hello Keith,

        I think you e mailed me two or three years ago (maybe more) about this. I did try to respond, but the e mails I sent kept coming back with a message saying that they couldn’t be delivered. Don’t know why. Anyway, if you receive this, do get in touch. I’m intrigued. I hope I’m able to help.

        Best,

        Dawn

        Like

      • keith stowers
        February 10, 2014

        Hi Dawn, can you please email me direct on keithstowers@hotmail.com. It wasn’t me who contacted you a few years ago. I wish to discuss a matter in relation to the magazine. Thanks Keith

        Like

    • Christopher T
      December 23, 2014

      Hi.. I recently went to an estate sale at Mr. Gibson’s in Calabasas, CA.

      I purchased a few tiny things bearing his name, illustrations and such.

      I am not sure if he recently passed or was moving but abbey road auctions ironically did the estate sale.

      Hope this info helps

      Like

  2. Piet Schreuders
    January 27, 2013

    Hello David, I have been a Bob Gibson fan for years, ever since I encountered his work in the Beatles Book Monthly magazine. I just came across a little known ad for the Magical Mystery Tour EP set and posted it on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/pietschreuders/8419889910

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
