David Rickert

Clip Art – Retro Reading

readingretro

Clip art of a guy reading on a stack of books. Eventually I’ll do a color version of this (or add some black and white shading) but I loved the retro look so I wanted to post it that way. It has a Dennis the Menace by Hank Ketcham feel that I like. This was achieved on purpose (using a dip pen to do the books) and by accident (my ink is getting a little goopy so it’s harder to control it on the brush, which gave it a dip pen appearance.)

Dip pens have always been difficult for me to manage, but I’m starting to get the hang of them and really like using them. You can’t control the line very well, and this forces me to accept a more spontaneous line that normal.

For more fun cartoon based resources, please visit my store and like my Facebook page!

One comment on “Clip Art – Retro Reading

  1. randomrepeat
    January 4, 2014

    Reblogged this on Random Repeat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

